老師/首席棒球教練凱文·希利(Kevin Healy)前往南非玩全球!

文章摘自Play Global的新聞通訊(2019年XNUMX月)

教練凱文·希利(Kevin Healy)今年夏天前往南非,在東開普省度過了一個月的棒球教學時間。 希利(Healy)的旅行主要集中在曼丹(Mdantsane)鎮,他曾在八所學校工作。 他向數百名本地學生和玩家,數十名老師和數名現有教練介紹了遊戲技巧和團隊合作精神。 幾天后,Healy意識到棒球對當地社區而言不僅僅是一場有趣的比賽。 “當我在鎮上走來走去時,人們會阻止我打招呼,並分享他們希望擁有棒球計劃有助於解決犯罪問題的方法,從而為孩子們提供積極的出路和他們為實現目標而興奮的目標。 成為團隊成員可以讓孩子擺脫麻煩是很有意義的。”

在他住在東開普省期間,希利還參觀了伊麗莎白港,與更多當地俱樂部的球員合作,並去了杰弗里斯灣參觀了另外四所學校。 這次旅行在曼丹桑特結束了一個有八所學校的節日。 他由老鷹棒球俱樂部發展官Lwazi Mlondolozie主持。

所有這些活動都是第二屆年度Billy Magengelele棒球復興計劃的一部分。 盧瓦齊說:“我們想復興東開普省的這項運動,並確保瑪格琳格勒先生的遺產繼續存在。” “在比賽期間,他是我的教練,他利用這項運動使我們遠離街頭,對此我深表感謝,我想繼續他的工作。 “ Healy是Play Global的第三位訪問東開普省的教練。”

Teacher / Head Baseball Coach, Kevin Healy, Travels to South Africa to Play Global!

Article taken from Play Global’s Newsletter (Sept. 2019)

Coach Kevin Healy traveled to South Africa this summer, spending one month teaching baseball in the Eastern Cape province. Healy’s trip focused the town of Mdantsane, where he worked in eight schools. He introduced game skills and teamwork to hundreds of local students and players, dozens of teachers, and several existing coaches. After a few days, Healy realized that baseball was more than a fun game to the local community. “As I walked around town, people would stop me to say hello and share how they hoped that having baseball programs would help with crime issues, giving the kids a positive outlet and goals they’d be excited to work toward. It made sense that being part of a team could keep kids out of trouble.”

During his stay in the Eastern Cape, Healy also visited Port Elizabeth to work with more local club players, and went to Jeffreys Bay to visit four additional schools. The trip wrapped up with an eight-school festival back in Mdansante. He was hosted by Lwazi Mlondolozie, Development Officer of the Eagles Baseball Club.

All these events were part of the 2nd annual Billy Magengelele Baseball Revival Programme. “We want to revive this sport in the Eastern Cape, and make sure Mr. Magengelele’s legacy lives on,” Lwazi said. “He was my coach during my playing days and he used the sport to keep us away from the streets, and I’m grateful for that, and I want to continue his work. “Healy is Play Global’s third coach to visit the Eastern Cape.”