寫作提示

每週寫作

Gohar Dashti在名為“家”的新攝影系列中,探索了她祖國伊朗被自然遺棄和回收的房屋內部。 圖像產生模糊的效果; 從某種意義上說,一間滿是野花的舊臥室顯得很可愛,但也暗示著一段黑暗的歷史。 這些房子裡發生了什麼[…]

每週寫作提示

為了準備寒冷的冬季,紅sh可以將其頭部和大腦的質量縮小20%,然後在春季天氣變暖時重新長成。 通過這種生存策略,他們在糧食資源匱乏時消耗的能源更少。 您的能量水平或與身體的關係是否發生變化[…]

每週寫作提示

給第一人稱敘述者一個充滿壓力,恐懼或創傷的場景,它利用“外部細節的選擇性描述”。 抵制誘惑以填補空白或以線性方式描述時間的流逝。 探索人腦處理事件的方式,並將您的發現納入您的講故事中。 […]

每週寫作提示

寫下五個單詞的列表,您會發現這些單詞特別令人反感,否則這些單詞可能沒有明確的負面含義。 在詩歌中使用這些單詞,並探索選擇單詞如何將您帶入某些主題。 您是否發現自己被其他驅蚊劑的圖像和記憶所吸引,還是被推向偏移[…]

每週寫作提示

寫一首受人體細胞水平啟發的詩。 您可以通過查看不同的詞彙和術語,或在細胞功能和過程與情感生活和人際關係中的情況之間建立聯繫來找到想法。 將您的作品提交至:wlpenman@gmail.com

每週寫作提示

這週,想想您最近遇到的一個佩服對象。 然後,寫一個短故事,從另一個人的角度重新構想這種經歷。 與您所解釋的交互可能會引起什麼注意? 表達的感受會是相互的嗎? 將您的作品提交到wlpenman@gmail.com

每週寫作提示

寫一首詩,以敬意和慶祝的口吻高興地悼念已逝的親人,或者以更一般的方式面對死亡和死亡。 將死亡的重心賦予活潑和活力是如何激發您以新的方式思考圖像,節奏和辭典的? 提交您的[…]

每週寫作提示

寫一個簡短的故事,探討人類角色在極端大氣條件下的地理位置時如何適應。 您的角色是一個人還是一個人? 您可以選擇寫一個基於現實的故事,也可以選擇包含奇幻元素的故事。 將您的作品提交至:wlpenman@gmail.com

每週寫作提示

寫三首詩,每首詩都著重於一種類型的感官輸入。 選擇一個元素(設置,敘述者的聲音,重複的單詞或特定的對象),使這三個元素保持不變,並將它們綁在一起。 將您的作品提交至:wlpenman@gmail.com

每週寫作提示

寫一篇個人文章,試圖應對死亡並從結尾開始,但隨後轉圈希望和起點。 您可能會選擇寫下自己失去的親人,一段戀情的結局,或者探討有關自己的死亡率的信念和問題。 搜索[…]的故事

Writing Prompt

Weekly Writing Post

In her new photography series titled “Home,” Gohar Dashti explores the interiors of houses in her native Iran that have been abandoned and reclaimed by nature. The images create an ambiguous effect; an old bedroom overrun with wildflowers is lovely in one sense, but also hints at a darker history. What happened in these houses […]

Weekly Writing Prompt

In preparation for cold winter months, red-toothed shrews are able to shrink their head and brain mass by 20 percent and then regrow it as the weather warms up in spring. With this survival strategy, they expend less energy when food resources are scarce. Does your energy level or your relationship to your body change […]

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a scene of high stress, fear, or trauma for a first-person narrator that makes use of “selective description of external details.” Resist the temptation to fill in the blanks or describe the passage of time in a linear way. Explore the way the human brain processes events, and incorporate your findings into your storytelling. […]

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write down a list of five words that you find particularly repulsive, words that might not otherwise have any definitively negative connotations. Use these words in a poem and explore how word choice can propel you toward certain subject matter. Do you find yourself pulled to other repellant images and memories, or pushed to offset […]

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a poem inspired by the workings of the human body at a cellular level. You may find ideas by looking at different vocabulary and terminology, or drawing connections between cellular functions and processes to situations in your emotional life and interpersonal relationships. Submit your pieces to: wlpenman@gmail.com

Weekly Writing Prompt

This week, think of a recent encounter you had with someone you admire. Then, write a short story where you reimagine that experience from the perspective of the other person. What might be noticed about the interaction that is different from what you interpreted? Will the feelings expressed be mutual? Submit your pieces to wlpenman@gmail.com

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a poem that joyfully honors a loved one who has passed away—or that confronts death and mortality in a more general way—with a tone of both respect and celebration. How does imbuing the gravity of mortality with liveliness and vitality inspire you to think about imagery, rhythm, and diction in new ways? Submit your […]

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a short story that explores how a human character adapts when placed in a geographical location with extreme atmospheric conditions. Is your character alone or part of a pack? You may choose to write a story based in reality, or one that incorporates elements of the fantastic. Submit your pieces to: wlpenman@gmail.com

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a trio of poems, each focusing on one type of sensory input. Select an element—setting, narrator’s voice, repeated words, or a specific object—that stays constant through all three, tying them together. Submit your pieces to: wlpenman@gmail.com

Weekly Writing Prompt

Write a personal essay that attempts to grapple with death and starts with the end, but then circles around to hope and beginnings. You might choose to write about a loved one you have lost, the end of a relationship, or explore your beliefs and questions about your own mortality. Search for the story of […]