學生在虛擬模型大會中獲得州級認可

華盛頓自由HS示範大會(MGA)俱樂部(由YMCA贊助的政府俱樂部青年)的19名學生由於COVID-2020離開校園後繼續參加課外活動。 而不是在弗吉尼亞州里士滿的首都舉行面對面會議。 今年春天,XNUMX年模範大會是完全虛擬的。

學生對VA立法的接管允許學生“參議員”,“代表”,“說客”和“記者”參加虛擬會議以進行辯論。 這個過程非常類似於傳統上會發生的過程,包括: 主題委員會聽證會,眾議院辯論法案,跨屆會議,參議院辯論法案,立法領導人選舉以及青年總督的否決或批准最終法案。 W-L代表團與全州200多名學生一起,就涵蓋從精神衛生工作者的賠償到沒收民事等主題的法案進行了介紹,辯論和折衷。 WL的遊說者找到了解決人身分離問題的創造性解決方案,並且仍然能夠與青年總督討論法案。 遊說者與票據顧客一起修改並通過了他們遊說的票據。 俱樂部歷史上第一次有WL MGA的學生, 丹尼爾·納德爾(Daniel Nadel),競選青年總督。 丹尼爾(Daniel)雖然沒有贏得勝利,但由於政治上有良心,因此提高了W-L在全州的聲譽。

WL HS的整個代表團自豪地代表了他們的學校,在會議結束時,有幾位被認為是最好的辯論者。 遊說者 朱莉婭·範·萊爾,遊說者 埃默里·帕克(Emery Parker)代表 阿比蓋爾·普斯頓(Abigail Presson)和參議員 卡斯滕·肖爾 被選中參加今年的國家事務會議(CONA)。 參加CONA的邀請是一個有聲望的選擇,弗吉尼亞YMCA僅要求全州大約有二十名學生代表英聯邦參加全國會議。 全國會議每年在北卡羅來納州黑山舉行。 每年夏天,但今年的參會者將以虛擬方式參加。

WL MGA俱樂部的學生參加者包括: Talley Schroeder,Carsten Schoer,Abby Presson,Daniel Nadel,Reina Cooper,Caroline Gage,Anika Bahl,Logan Rowland,Valeria Lopez Altamirano,Payton Broadwell,Julia Van Lare,Emery Parker,Peyton Fern,Ainsley McCabe,Laura Rapazo,Thomas Sharpe, Leah Karush,Noah Porter,Nicholas Mestre,Jake Dertke,Abel Geleta和Catherine Ledesma-Aquino。

Students Earn State-Wide Recognition in a Virtual Model General Assembly

Twenty-three students from the Washington-Liberty HS Model General Assembly (MGA) Club (a YMCA-sponsored youth in government club) continued to participate in extracurricular activities after they left campus due to COVID-19. Instead of in-person sessions at the Capital in Richmond, VA. this spring, the 2020 Model General Assembly was entirely virtual.

The student takeover of VA legislation allowed student “Senators”, “Delegates”, “Lobbyists”, and “Reporters” to participate in  virtual meetings for their debates. This processes closely resembled those that would traditionally take place including; topical committee hearings, House debate of bills, cross over sessions, Senate debate of bills, legislative leadership elections, and the Youth Governor’s veto or approval of final bills. Along with more than 200 students statewide, W-L’s delegation presented, debated, and compromised on bills that covered topics ranging from mental health workers’ compensation to civil forfeiture. The lobbyists from W-L found creative solutions to the problems of physical separation and still were able to discuss bills with the Youth Governor. The lobbyists worked with bill patrons to amend and pass the bills they lobbied for. For the first time in club history, W-L MGA also had a student, Daniel Nadel, campaign for Youth Governor. Though he did not win, Daniel enhanced W-L’s state-wide reputation as a school with a powerful political conscience.

The entire delegation from W-L HS proudly represented their school superbly and at the end of the conference several were recognized as some of the finest debaters. Lobbyist Julia Van Lare, Lobbyist Emery Parker, Delegate Abigail Presson, and Senator Carsten Schoer were selected to participate in this year’s Conference on National Affairs (CONA). The invite to attend CONA is a prestigious selection and the Virginia YMCA only asks roughly two dozen students statewide to represent the Commonwealth at the national meeting. The national meeting is held annually in Black Mountain, NC. every summer, but this year participants will attend virtually.

W-L MGA club student participants included: Talley Schroeder, Carsten Schoer, Abby Presson, Daniel Nadel, Reina Cooper, Caroline Gage, Anika Bahl, Logan Rowland, Valeria Lopez Altamirano, Payton Broadwell, Julia Van Lare, Emery Parker, Peyton Fern, Ainsley McCabe, Laura Rapazo, Thomas Sharpe, Leah Karush, Noah Porter, Nicholas Mestre, Jake Dertke, Abel Geleta, and Catherine Ledesma-Aquino.