年長者詹姆斯·利卡托(James Licato),第80枚再生元科學人才搜索的決賽入圍者,籌集了25,000美元

前輩 詹姆斯·利卡托 在80年代入圍決賽 再生元科學人才搜尋 (STS)-美國最古老,最負盛名的高中生科學和數學競賽。 他的科學項目名為“用於水處理中的藥物,個人護理產品(PPCP)和全氟烷基物質(PFAS)同時去除的沸石複合材料的開發”現在將進入最後一輪比賽。

今年,由科學學會擁有和製作的全國共有1,760名學生參加了比賽。 考慮到今年提出的許多挑戰,這是一項非凡的成就。 利卡托將獲得25,000美元的成就獎金,華盛頓自由中學也將獲得用於STEM相關活動的資金。

由於大流行,Licato將參加今年實際上在10年17月2021日至13日這一周舉行的決賽。他加入了21位諾貝爾獎獲得者,XNUMX位麥克阿瑟基金會研究員和許多其他傑出的《科學》畢業生。人才搜尋。 這一榮譽使他成為美國最有前途的年輕科學家或數學家之一。

Senior, James Licato, Finalist for 80th Regeneron Science Talent Search, Collects $25,000

Senior James Licato has been named a Finalist in the 80th Regeneron Science Talent Search (STS) —the nation’s oldest and most prestigious science and mathematics competition for high school seniors. His science project titled Development of a Zeolite Composite Material for the Simultaneous Removal of Pharmaceuticals, Personal Care Products (PPCPs), and Perfluorinated Alkyl Substances (PFAS) in Water Treatment will now advance to final round of competition.

A total of 1,760 students around the country entered the competition this year, which is owned and produced by Society for Science. This is an extraordinary accomplishment considering the many challenges this year has presented. Licato will receive $25,000 for his accomplishment and Washington – Liberty High School will also receive funds to use toward STEM-related activities.

Licato will participate in the final competition to be held virtually this year due to the pandemic, the week of March 10- 17, 2021. He joins the ranks of 13 Nobel prize winners, 21 MacArthur Foundation Fellows and many other distinguished alumni of the Science Talent Search. This honor identifies him as one of the nation’s most promising young scientists or mathematicians.