Eight students named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Program announced that 17 Arlington students are semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Competition. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state and represent less than one percent of the nation’s seniors. The Arlington students are among the 16,000 semifinalists named nationally. More than 1.5 million students competed when they were juniors by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). These students will have the opportunity to compete for approximately 7,500 Merit Scholarship awards totaling $33 million.

The semifinalists from Washington-Lee High School include:  Nomin Baatarkhuu, Benjamin Brooks, Michael Cleary, Jackson Garcia, Grace Hauk, Johanna Klein, Mia Shaker and Erik Weiner.

APS News Release: “2017 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named”

Posted on September 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm.

Link: https://www.apsva.us/post/2017-national-merit-scholarship-semifinalists-named/