國際文憑課程

在2020 04-30-10.06.39 PM屏幕截圖
自1996年以來的IB學校

弗吉尼亞排名第一的IB學校
2014-2017年華盛頓郵報挑戰指數

國際文憑課程

WL IB學院2018-19

2020年WL IB級

2020年WLHS等級

 

WLHS IB 2019級

WLHS IB 2019級

IB使命宣言

國際文憑組織的目標是培養具有查詢能力,知識淵博和有愛心的年輕人,這些年輕人通過跨文化的理解和尊重幫助建立一個更好,更和平的世界。

為此,該組織與學校,政府和國際組織合作,制定具有挑戰性的國際教育和嚴格評估計劃。

這些計劃鼓勵世界各地的學生成為活躍,富有同情心和終生的學習者,他們了解彼此的差異也很對。

IB學習者簡介 是IBO的使命宣言,被翻譯成21世紀的一系列學習成果。

概述

華盛頓自由中學於1996-1997年首次被授權教授國際文憑(IB)文憑課程。 自成為授權的IB世界學校以來,根據《新聞周刊》和《華盛頓郵報》,華盛頓自由大學一直名列美洲最佳中學的前100名。

IB課程為11年級和12年級的上進心強,學業精通的華盛頓自由學生提供了嚴格的教育。它代表了對高中課程專業化的需求與對知識廣度的重視之間的故意妥協。 IB計劃的獨特之處在於,它提供了具有凝聚力的跨學科教育,從而獲得了全球大學認可的文憑。

IB文憑候選人在多個學科領域進行研究:

  • 語言與文學研究:英語(西班牙語為流利發言者的附加選項)
  • 語言習得
  • 個人與社會(類似於社會研究)
  • 實驗科學
  • 數學
  • 選修藝術或第六科目。

這些主題組由IB六邊形規定。 這項要求確保了文科領域的廣泛曝光。 除了這六門課程的課程工作和考試成績及格分數外,文憑學生還必須完成一項“創造力,活動,服務(CAS)”提案(要求在18個月內公平地參與創造力,活動和服務經驗的平衡),三年級的第一天),4,000字的擴展論文(EE)和知識理論課程(TOK)。 老師提供跨學科的指導,學生可以學習學科領域內和學科領域內的共同過程,主題和材料。 學習六門學科領域課程和TOK的證據包括內部和外部評估的組合。 內部評估由IB設計,但由課堂老師使用IB評分規則進行管理和評分。 外部評估由IB考官評分,包括1月考試以及第6和第XNUMX組課程的其他評估。)擴展論文由IB考官外部評分。 參加完整文憑課程的學生符合弗吉尼亞州教育部的畢業要求以及IB文憑要求。

 

課程

課程的重點將是如右圖所示的框架所規定的課程。十六進制
該課程包含六個科目,以及必修課,必修課由三個獨立的部分組成,這三個部分是文憑課程理念的核心。 正式文憑的候選人必須修讀三門高級課程(高級文憑,為期兩年的240個教學小時)和三門標準課程(高級語言課程,為一或兩年,共150個教學小時的課程)。 因此,學生可以深入探索某些主題,而更廣泛地探索其他主題。 以科學為導向的學生面臨學習外語的挑戰,自然語言學家會熟悉實驗室程序。 在課程的每個領域都鼓勵積極的公民意識和全球視野。

強烈鼓勵不希望滿足IB文憑所有要求的學生參加IB課程中的個別課程,以幫助他們為將來的教育做準備。 這些科目稱為“文憑課程”(DP)課程,學習這些課程的學生稱為“文憑課程”(DP)課程學生。

在華盛頓自由中學,我們在六個課程IB組中提供以下課程

WL提供的課程:
第一組:語言與文學研究 
  • 英語文學A HL *
  • 英語A語言文學SL *
  • 西班牙語A語言和文學A HL(流利的西班牙語使用者)

*學生必須選擇其中一門英語課程。 成功完成英語課程以及西班牙語A語言文學課程的學生,除在其他小組中的課程工作外,還將獲得雙語的IB文憑。

第二組:語言習得 
  • 阿拉伯文B SL和AB SL
  • 中文/普通話B SL&AB SL
  • 法語B HL / SL
  • 拉丁語HL / SL
  • 西班牙語B HL / SL
第三組:個人與社會
  • 商業管理SL
  • 經濟學SL
  • 地理SL
  • 美洲歷史/主題HL
  • 哲學SL
  • 心理學HL / SL
  • 社會人類學HL / SL
第4組:實驗科學
  • 生物學HL / SL
  • 化學HL
  • 計算機科學HL / SL
  • 設計技術SL
  • 環境系統與社會SL
  • 物理SL
  • 體育,運動與健康科學SL
第5組:數學
  • 數學:應用程序和解釋SL
  • 數學:分析和方法HL / SL

第6組:藝術

或以上任一科目選修的第六科目

  • 膠卷HL / SL
  • 音樂SL
  • 戲劇藝術HL / SL
  • 視覺藝術HL / SL

有關以上課程的說明,請參見APS學習計劃.

文憑分級系統

擴展論文和知識論課程共同獲得最高3分+ CAS完成的評分。 文憑候選人將其從六個科目中獲得的分數與從擴展論文和知識論中獲得的任何其他分數相加。 學生至少需要獲得24分才能獲得文憑,並且在任何高級課程中不得得分為1或2。 低於4的任何等級必須由同一等級的高於4的另一個等級平衡。 30分或以上被認為是很好。 35分或更高是極好的。 完美的文憑分數是45分。 所有IB文憑科目均根據下圖所示的等級進行評分。 有關授予文憑或評估程序的其他信息,請查閱《總則:文憑課程》。

文憑成績 活動介紹
7
6 挺好
5 良好
4 滿意的
3
2
1 非常差

International Baccalaureate Program

Screen Shot 2020-04-30 at 10.06.39 PM
An IB School Since 1996

#1 IB School in Virginia
2014-2017 Washington Post Challenge Index

International Baccalaureate Program

W-L IB Faculty 2018-19

 

WLHS IB Class of 2019

WLHS IB Class of 2019

The IB Mission Statement

The International Baccalaureate Organization aims to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who help to create a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect. To this end the organization works with schools, governments and international organizations to develop challenging programs of international education and rigorous assessment. These programs encourage students across the world to become active, compassionate and lifelong learners who understand that other people, with their differences, can also be right. The IB Learner Profile is the IBO mission statement translated into a set of learning outcomes for the 21st century.

Overview

Washington-Liberty High School was first authorized to teach the International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program in 1996-1997.  Since becoming an authorized IB World School, Washington-Liberty has consistently ranked in the top 100 of Americas Best High Schools according to Newsweek and the Washington Post.

The IB program provides a rigorous education for highly motivated and academically proficient Washington-Liberty students in grade 11 and 12.  It represents a deliberate compromise between the demand for specialization in the high school curriculum and the emphasis for breadth of knowledge.  The IB program is unique in that it provides a cohesive interdisciplinary education leading to a diploma that is recognized at universities throughout the world.

An IB diploma candidate pursues studies across multiple subject areas:

  • Studies in Language & Literature:  English (with Spanish for fluent speakers as an additional option)
  • Language acquisition
  • Individuals & Societies (similar to social studies)
  • Experimental Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • The Arts or a sixth subject elective.

These subject groups are prescribed by the IB Hexagon (pictured below).  This requirement ensures a broad exposure across the liberal arts spectrum.  In addition to the course work and passing grades on examinations in these six subjects, diploma students must complete a Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) proposal (requiring an equitable balance of participation in creativity, activity and service experiences for 18 months, starting the first day of junior year), an extended essay (EE) of 4,000 words, and the Theory of Knowledge course (TOK).  Teachers provide interdisciplinary instruction whereby students study common processes, themes and materials within and across the subject areas.  Evidence of learning the six subject area courses plus TOK include a combination of internal and external assessments.  Internal assessments are designed by IB but administered and scored by the classroom teacher using IB scoring rubrics.  External assessments are scored by IB examiners and include the May examinations as well as additional assessments for courses in groups 1 & 6.)  The extended essay is graded externally IB examiners.  Students who participate in the full diploma program fulfill the Virginia Department of Education graduation requirements as well as IB diploma requirements.

 

The Curriculum

The focus of the curriculum will be the offering of courses as prescribed by the framework pictured to the right.Hex
The curriculum contains six subject groups together with a compulsory core made up of three separate parts that are central to the philosophy of the diploma program.  Full diploma candidates must take three courses at the Higher Level (HL, two-year courses representing 240 teaching hours) and three courses at the Standard Level (SL, one or two year courses representing 150 teaching hours).  Students are thus able to explore some subjects in depth and others more broadly.  The science-oriented student is challenged to learn a foreign language and the natural linguist becomes familiar with laboratory procedures.  Active citizenship and global perspectives are encouraged in each area of the curriculum.

Students not wishing to fulfill all of the requirements of the IB diploma are strongly encouraged to take individual courses in the IB curriculum to help them prepare for future education. These subjects are referred to as Diploma Program (DP) courses and the students who study them are referred to as Diploma Program (DP) course students.

At Washington-Liberty High School we offer the following courses in the six curricular IB groups (2017-2018 SY):

Group Courses offered at WL:
Group 1: Studies in Language & Literature 
  • English A Literature HL*
  • English A Language & Literature SL*
  • Spanish A Language & Literature A HL (for fluent Spanish speakers)

*Students are required to choose one of the English courses.  Students who successfully complete an English course along with the Spanish A Language & Literature course, in addition to their course work in other groups, will earn a bilingual IB diploma.

Group 2:  Language Acquisition 
  • Arabic B SL & AB SL
  • Chinese/Mandarin B SL & AB SL
  • French B HL/SL
  • Latin HL/SL
  • Spanish B HL/SL
Group 3:  Individuals & Societies
  • Business Management SL
  • Economics SL
  • Geography SL
  • History of the Americas/Topics HL
  • Philosophy SL
  • Psychology HL/SL
  • Social Anthropology HL/SL
Group 4:  Experimental Sciences
  • Biology HL/SL
  • Chemistry HL
  • Computer Science HL/SL
  • Design Technology SL
  • Environmental Systems & Societies SL
  • Physics SL
  • Sports, Exercise & Health Science SL
Group 5: Mathematics
  • Math: Applications & Interpretation SL
  • Math: Analysis & Approaches HL/SL

Group 6:  The Arts

or a sixth subject elective from one of the groups above

  • Film HL/SL
  • Music SL
  • Theater Arts HL/SL
  • Visual Arts HL/SL

Please see the APS Program of Studies for descriptions of the courses above.

Diploma Grading System

The Extended Essay and the Theory of Knowledge course are jointly graded with a maximum of 3 points + CAS completion.  Diploma candidates add their points from the six subjects together with any additional points obtained from the Extended Essay and Theory of Knowledge.  Students need a minimum of 24 points to obtain a Diploma and must not score a 1 or 2 in any Higher Level subject.  Any grade below a 4 must be balanced by another grade above a 4 at the same level.  A score of 30 or above is considered to be good.  Scores of 35 or higher are excellent.  A perfect diploma score is 45 points.  All IB Diploma subjects are graded according to the scale pictured below. For additional information regarding the awarding of the diploma or assessment procedures, please consult the General Regulations: Diploma Program.

Diploma Grade Description
7 Excellent
6 Very Good
5 Good
4 Satisfactory
3 Weak
2 Poor
1 Very Poor

To learn more about our program, please contact us:

IB Office Staff

Julie Cantor,

IB Coordinator

Office: (703) 228-6233

julie.cantor@apsva.us

Diana Velasquez,

IB Administrative Assistant

Office: (703) 228-6234

diana.velasquez@apsva.us

 Sandy Munnell,

Extended Essay

Office: (703 228-6237

sandy.munnell@apsva.us

Liz Burgos,

CAS coordinator

 Office: (703 228-8657

elizabeth.burgos@apsva.us