1940-1959

華盛頓李中學歷史:1940 – 59


里程碑

“爭取民主在我們歷史上並不是什麼新鮮事。 我們國家的父親喬治·華盛頓為此進行了決定性的戰鬥。 由偉大的解放者亞伯拉罕·林肯(Abraham Lincoln)撰寫,僅在20年前由我們自己的父親和叔叔提出。 在我們自己的首都建造的令人印象深刻的紀念碑象徵著我們的讚賞。” 發表在WL 交叉劍 珍珠港襲擊事件發生後不久。

對於華盛頓晚星物理學的一個故事,愛德華·諾德(Edward North)在他的新科學教室主持了一次示範。
對於一個故事 華盛頓晚星 物理老師愛德華·諾德(Edward North)進行了示範
在他新的,最先進的科學教室中,這是1952年加入學校的一部分。 諾斯先生教授物理學,並且是實驗室助手俱樂部和科學榮譽協會的教職贊助商。 (照片由North先生提供;鳴謝: 華盛頓晚星)
  • 許多人認為體育計劃是該州最好的。
  • 1942年,由WPA資助修建了一個新的機翼和一個帶拱形窗戶和兩個閱覽室的大型圖書館。 步槍範圍也在商店區域建造。 (WPA牌匾已保存並安裝在當前圖書館的外部。步槍射程在1976年被拆除;但是從2017年起,W-L的步槍團隊繼續與地區學校競爭。)
  • WL成立25週年之際,成為了7至9年級的高中。 阿靈頓建立獨立的初中時,已經淘汰了XNUMX至XNUMX年級。
  • 著名的建築師Rhees Burket設計了新的科學/家庭經濟學樓,小型禮堂和體育館; 新部分於1953年開放。(Burket也是設計1925年原始建築的建築師之一。) 令人印象深刻的600英尺長的走廊,從N Quicny街到N Stafford街,橫跨兩棟建築。
  • 命名 魯道夫坎貝爾體育館 在最近去世的一位受歡迎的老師之後,它擁有 3,000 個座位(或 2,500 名觀眾),使其成為華盛頓特區最大的高中體育館。 它建在 Hazel 家族擁有的農舍的原址上。 房子被搬走了,仍然矗立在一個街區外的 N Nelson Street 上。 (John “Til” Hazel 是 47 年級的成員。)
  • “總共花費了1,127,197美元,用於建設23個教室,…,一個小禮堂和一個體育館。 該體育館據說是該地區最大的體育館……”(1953年XNUMX月XNUMX日, 交叉劍)
  • 同時對學校最古老的部分進行了翻新,獲得了189,408美元的資金; 舊的健身房又分為音樂室(23年1953月XNUMX日, 交叉劍).
  • WL增長到3,000名學生(1955年)。
  • 第一任女班主任帕特·墨菲(Pat Murphy,1956年)。
  • 1956年引入了新的出勤政策。
  • WL 通過新創建的課程擴展了其高級課程 進階先修課程(AP) 50年代中期的學習課程。 學生有資格繞過某些大學新生課程。
  • WL在38年的學術排名中名列前1957名。
  • WL成為全美第一所免除A級平均成績的高考生(1959年)。 在決賽中,老年人可以穿百慕大短褲。
1957年華盛頓李的頂尖高中交叉馬刀
WL被評為全美前38名高中之一 時代雜誌的 學術排名(30年1957月XNUMX日 交叉劍).

取消種族隔離里程碑

  • 1947 年,伊麗莎白坎貝爾成為弗吉尼亞州第一位當選學校董事會成員的女性。 在種族隔離時代,她領導努力為阿靈頓的黑人和白人學生開發類似的設施和計劃。 在 1954 年布朗訴教育委員會最高法院的裁決之後,作為主席,她計劃取消該縣學校的種族隔離。 (在華盛頓地區,非歐洲國際學生總體上被認為是“白人”,因為他們上學的目的。1955 年,鄰近的華盛頓特區和馬里蘭學區也制定了取消種族隔離計劃。)
  • 阿靈頓一神教教會和阿靈頓的黑人教會率先努力將白人和黑人學生召集在一起參加教會青年團體活動,為融合做準備(1954年)。
  • 1956 年,阿靈頓選舉產生的學校董事會因計劃在當年秋天整合阿靈頓的學校而被該州解僱。 因預期學校董事會的整合計劃而在 WL 註冊的黑人學生不能再參加。 國家採取了一項政策 “大規模抵抗” 到學校整合。
  • 同年,代表15名黑白父母和22名學生提起訴訟。 它以克拉里薩·湯普森(Clarissa S. Thompson)的名字命名,後者於1955年尋求參加WL。
  • 在亞歷山大聯邦聯邦地方法院法官阿爾伯特·V·布萊恩(Albert V. Bryan)和州最高上訴法院的裁決之後,斯特拉特福德初中和平整合併成為全球頭條新聞(2年1959月XNUMX日)。 弗吉尼亞州的“大規模抵抗”政策結束了。
  • W-L的第二任校長克勞德·里士滿(Claude Richmond)在1959年為斯特拉特福德大學的黑人學生營造熱情氣氛中所扮演的角色而被人們銘記。(里士滿先生於1951年開業時離開WL成為斯特拉特福德校長。)
  • 25 年 1959 月 XNUMX 日,黑人父母最終獲得法院命令,迫使 WL 在學校董事會的主持下取消種族隔離。
  • 1 年 1959 月 XNUMX 日,前四名黑人學生進入 WL:查爾斯·奧金斯、沃倫·亨特、喬伊斯·斯特羅瑟和斯蒂芬·湯普森。
  • 在短暫的不確定之後,WL 成為整個英聯邦學校寬容的典範。 在這個融合的早期階段,人們感到焦慮,但黑人和白人學生之間形成了友誼。 這些學生勇敢地為以後幾年學校的團結精神奠定了基礎。 WL 成為整個北弗吉尼亞州學校寬容的典範。 (有關融合和公民權利的更多里程碑,請參閱 1960-1979 年時間線部分。)

學生

1949年的年鑑專門介紹了學校的國際人口。
1949年的年鑑專門介紹了學校的國際人口。 學校的外國出生學生很快適應了WL的生活。 一名學生Avijit Mazumdar(也稱為Bobby)曾擔任11-B -12-A班級主席,國際俱樂部主席,該俱樂部的業務經理。 筆者,並且是國家榮譽學會的會員。 (1949年 藍色和灰色11月22,1950 十字軍刀)
在第二次世界大戰結束時,“ 44-45”學生會向WL贈送了一塊牌匾,上面列出了為國家服務而犧牲的學生的姓名。
在第二次世界大戰結束時,'44 -'45學生會向WL贈送了一塊牌匾,上面列出了為國家服務而犧牲的學生的姓名。

將軍的助手 該手冊由學生會每年為學生編寫。


傳統

  • 火雞跳: 在 WL – GW 比賽之後的那個晚上,學生們去了土耳其跳,足球女王被加冕。 足球女王(又名土耳其女王或返校節女王)的傳統始於 1944 年。在 1968 年和 1969 年,當比賽在感恩節前進行時,一個單獨的返校節傳統得以發展。
  • 學校舞蹈:“有一個12人或14人的樂隊,所有女士都穿著長晚禮服,而男孩們則穿著西裝和領帶。 每個人都很有意識(原文如此)。 Girard(Norman)Trahan,43歲的班級,在接受北弗吉尼亞太陽報採訪時(第57卷,第86期)。
  • 年度頒獎大會

班主任

  • 高級班長:1940年-保羅·約翰遜(1941年)-丹·約翰遜(1942年)-克勞德·加菲爾德(Claude Garfield)-1943年-拉里·伍德沃德(Larry Woodward)-1944年-哈欽森(Sutchinson)舞台,1945年-比爾·勞拉(Bill Lolar),1946年-沃爾特·瓦斯(Walter Vass),1947年-羅伯特·希勒(Robert Shirer),1948年-羅伯特·卡爾弗特(Robert Calvert),1949年-1950年的弗蘭克·迪爾-1951年的比爾·基斯-1952年的弗雷德·莫爾-1953年的查爾斯·蒙哥馬利-1954年的查爾斯·休普-1955年的古蒂·泰勒-1956年的沃倫·比蒂-1957年的帕特·墨菲-1958年的阿爾·里士滿-1959年的沃倫·霍特爾-鮑勃·凱斯(Bob Keyes)。
  • SCA主席:1940年-鮑勃·克萊門森(Bob Clementson),1941年-羅德尼·高姆尼茨(Rodney Gaumnitz),1942年-李·麥克唐納(Lee McDonald),1943年的巴恩斯·勞森(Barnes Lawson),1944年的比利·厄爾(Billy Earl)-1945年的約翰·洛夫林(John Loflin)-1946年的奧利弗·奧弗塞斯(Oliver Overseth)-1947年的霍華德·保羅(Edward Holley),1948年的阿瑟(Arthur)威利(Wiley),1949年-帕特·馮克豪斯(Pat Funkhouser),1950年-薩姆·埃伯特(Sam Eberdt),1951年-吉姆·潘恩(Jim Pyane),1952年-湯姆·塞耶(Tom Thayer),1953年-羅斯·弗萊徹(1954)-邁克·杜菲(Mike Durfee),1955年-喬治·芬利(George Finley),1956年-蘇西·威爾遜(Suzie Wilson),1957年-伯特·瑟伯(Burt Thurber),1958年皮爾徹

著名校友

Gena Rowlands,47年級; John T.“ Til” Hazel,47年級; 雪莉·麥克萊恩(Shirley Maclaine),52年級; 沃倫·比蒂(Warren Beatty),55年級; 雪萊·曼(Shelley Mann),55年級


學院

1950年成立的原始wl系

WL的最後三位原始教職員工被拍照, 1950藍色和灰色。 他們是愛戀小姐,貝爾小姐和格林納威小姐。


趨勢

克拉倫登·潘妮(Clarendon Pennys),1958年
克拉倫登·潘妮(Clarendon Penny's)在1958年擴建之後。 人民藥妝店和公共鞋店在後台。 (公共鞋於2017年關閉。)
克拉倫登的博耶藥房蘇打水噴泉
WL學生在Clarendon的Boyer's Pharmacy蘇打水噴泉工作和社交('42 藍色和灰色).
  • WL和斯特拉特福初中享有盛名。
  • 根據本 將軍的助手 1957 年,Rhythm and Blues、MAD 雜誌和“常春藤聯盟”服裝是融入 WL 的關鍵.
  • 根據斯特拉特福初中 斯特拉特福路標 這些是52年代的時尚:領帶,便鞋和牛津,而對於女孩來說,燈芯絨的weskit和裙子是。
  • 學生們聚集在 藍灰專賣店 在校園的邊緣。
  • 站在校舍外面的“小商店”是另一個受歡迎的聚會場所。
  • 晚上,羅斯林和里昂村的熱門商店在學生中很受歡迎。
  • “ Rosslyn Hot Shoppes是您跳舞後必須去的地方。” Girard(Norman)Trahan,43歲的班級,在接受北弗吉尼亞太陽報採訪時(第57卷,第86期)。
  • Gusti在DC的餐廳。
  • 當Marios於1953年開業時,它很快就受到了WL孩子們的歡迎(到2017年仍然如此)。
  • Cherry Smash是一種受歡迎的汽水,裝在Ballston中。
  • 本尼·古德曼音樂
  • 1951年,騎踏板車成為一種趨勢。
  • 在Palisades的WL洞穴的黑暗中,發生了“各種各樣的事情”。
  • 克拉倫登(Clarendon)的Quality Shop和帕金頓(Parkington)的休閒角(Hecht's)都擁有50年代的最新時尚。
  • 年輕婦女在哥倫比亞派克大學的漢密爾頓夫人商店購物。 (它在2000年代初關閉。)
  • 在克拉倫登和市中心(F街)購物。

體育

1958年秋季的白天足球比賽
1958年感恩節在家對決GW。 在原始建築物的右側可以看到1952年新建的坎貝爾體育館。

感恩節WL –舊橡木桶的GW遊戲 (1935-1970):這項年度足球傳統將北弗吉尼亞州最強悍的競爭對手帶到了烤架上,進行了一場最終的殘酷競賽。 獲勝者將獲得舊橡木桶。 WL在1970年贏得了最後一場Old Oaken Bucket遊戲。那年,亞歷山大亞歷山大的喬治華盛頓高中關閉了。 在40年代和50年代,高中足球是一項主要的社區活動,體育場總是滿座。 根據1937年的年鑑,'36遊戲吸引了有史以來在北弗吉尼亞州觀看比賽的最大人群。 比賽前學生經常舉行篝火晚會。 足球女王候選人,班級和俱樂部花車參加遊行。 在客場比賽中,GW有一輛貨車。

韋恩·巴拉德(Wayne Ballard)的投籃命中率使WL以3-0擊敗GW贏得了學校的第一個“無可爭議的”足球州冠軍(1956年感恩節)。

阿靈頓戰爭紀念體育場。 體育場於1957年完工,帶有兩個末端區域看台,永久的混凝土訪客座椅和家庭看台,該球場可容納10,000名觀眾。 它是該地區第二大的中學體育場。 GW在亞歷山大的體育場可以容納17,000。 在新體育場舉行的第一場比賽是對陣Fairfax高中。 運動助推器,學生主導的籌款活動,戰爭紀念委員會以及縣和學校董事會籌集了27,000美元。 (17年1957月XNUMX日 交叉劍)

坎貝爾體育館 始建於1952年,擁有兩層看台。 它可以容納2,500名觀眾,是該地區最大的中學體育館。

建立了步槍射擊場。

查理·巴特(Charlie Butt)執教 WL船員 超過40年。 為了紀念他,他在上波托馬克河上舉行了帆船賽並獲得了一項特殊獎學金。 WL在華盛頓特區地區倖存的最古老的高中賽艇計劃。 (亞歷山德里亞的TC Williams聲稱GW的划船計劃始於一年前。)該車隊在其70年的歷史中贏得了國內和國際比賽。

地區標題

  • 足球:1942、43、45、46、56
  • 越野:1952、53、54、58
  • 戶外跑道:1953、54、55、56、58
  • 室內跑道:1954、55、56、57、58
  • 籃球:1941、42、56
  • 摔角:1958年,59
  • 棒球:1946、47、52、53、54、57
  • 男童網球:1951、55、56、57、58

州標題

  • 足球:1956年
  • 越野:1952、53、54、58
  • 室內跑道:1943、54、55、56、57
  • 棒球:1949年,50歲
  • 摔角:1959年

船員

  • NOVA:1949,50,51,57,58,59
  • 斯托斯伯里:1949,50,53,54,57,58,59
  • 全國男生:1949、50、53、57、58、59

活動與組織

  • 美洲俱樂部(又名國際俱樂部)成立於1941年
  • 彭曼文學雜誌(1941)
  • 清晨播音員
  • 歡迎來到WL Club
  • 合唱團
  • 唱詩班
  • 樂隊

上述組織在 21 世紀之交繼續在 WL 運作。

1940-1959

Washington-Lee High School History: 1940 – 59


Milestones

“Fighting for democracy is nothing new in our history. Decisive battles have been fought for it by the Father of Our Country, George Washington; by the Great Emancipator, Abraham Lincoln, and a mere 20 years ago by our own fathers and uncles. Our appreciation is symbolized by the impressive monuments erected to them in our own Capital City.” Published in the W-L Crossed Sabres shortly after the attack on Pearl Harbor.

For a story in the Washington Evening Star Physics teacher Edward North leads a demonstration in his new science classroom.
For a story in the Washington Evening Star Physics teacher Edward North leads a demonstration
in his new, state-of-the-art science classroom, part of the 1952 addition. Mr. North taught Physics and was the faculty sponsor for the Lab Assistants’ Club and the Science Honor Society. (photo courtesy of Mr. North; credit: the Washington Evening Star)
  • The sports program was considered by many to be the best in the state.
  • A new wing and a large library with arched windows and two reading rooms were built in 1942 with WPA funds. The rifle range was also constructed in the shop area. (The WPA plaque was preserved and is mounted outside of the current library. The rifle range was demolished in 1976; however as of 2017, W-L’s rifle team continues to compete with area schools.)
  • On its 25th anniversary, W-L became a senior high school serving grades ten through twelve. Grades 7-9 had been phased out as Arlington built standalone junior high schools.
  • Noted architect Rhees Burket designed a new science / home economics wing, small auditorium, and gymnasium; the new section opened in 1953. (Burket was also one of the architects who designed the original 1925 building.) This addition created an impressive 600 ft long corridor, spanning two buildings from N Quicny Street to N Stafford Street.
  • Named Rudolph Campbell Gymnasium after a popular teacher who had recently died, it had a 3,000 seat capacity (or 2,500 spectators), making it the largest high school gym in the Washington, DC region. It was built on the site of a farmhouse owned by the Hazel family. The house was moved and still stands on N Nelson Street one block away. (John “Til” Hazel is a member of the class of ’47.)
  • “A total of $1,127,197 was spent in building thirty classrooms,…, a small auditorium, and a gymnasium. The gymnasium is supposedly the largest in the area,…” (February 23, 1953 Crossed Sabres)
  • The oldest portion of the school was simultaneously renovated with $189,408 in funding; the old gym was subdivided into music rooms (February 23, 1953 Crossed Sabres).
  • W-L grew to 3,000 students (1955).
  • First woman class president, Pat Murphy (1956).
  • New attendance policies were introduced in 1956.
  • W-L expanded its advanced course offerings with the newly created AP course of study (mid 50s). Students were eligible to bypass certain freshman college courses.
  • W-L was ranked academically in the top 38 high schools in 1957.
  • W-L became the first school in the nation to exempt seniors with A averages from final exams (1959). Seniors were allowed to wear bermuda shorts during finals.
Washington-lee top high school in 1957 Crossed Sabres
W-L was ranked among the nation’s top 38 high schools according to Time Magazine’s academic ranking (Oct. 30, 1957 Crossed Sabres).

Integration Milestones

  • In 1947, Elizabeth Campbell became the first woman elected to a school board in Virginia. She led efforts to develop comparable facilities and programs for Arlington’s Black and White students during the era of segregation. Following the Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision in 1954, as chairman she planned for the desegregation of the county’s schools. (In the DC region, by and large, non-European international students were considered “White” for the purpose of school attendance. In 1955 the adjacent Washington, DC and Maryland school districts also developed desegregation plans.)
  • The Arlington Unitarian Church and Arlington’s Black churches spearheaded an effort to bring White and Black students together in church youth group activities to prepare for integration (1954).
  • In 1956, Arlington’s elected school board was fired by the state for its plans to integrate Arlington’s schools that Fall. Black students who registered at W-L in anticipation of the school board’s integration plans could no longer attend. The state had adopted a policy of “Massive Resistance” to school integration.
  • That same year a lawsuit was filed on behalf of 15 Black and White parents and 22 students. It was named for Clarissa S. Thompson who sought to attend W-L in 1955.
  • Following rulings by Alexandria Federal District Judge Albert V. Bryan and the State Supreme Court of Appeals, Stratford Junior High School integrated peacefully and made headlines around the world (February 2, 1959). Virginia’s policy of “Massive Resistance” came to an end.
  • W-L’s second principal, Claude Richmond, has been remembered for his role in ensuring a welcoming atmosphere for Stratford’s Black students in 1959. (Mr. Richmond left W-L to become principal at Stratford when it opened in 1951.)
  • The following September, the first four Black students enrolled at W-L. Among them were juniors Joyce Strother and Charles Augins. There was uncertainty and anxiety during this early period of integration, but friendships formed among Black and White students. These students bravely laid the foundation for the spirit of unity at the school in the following years. W-L became a model of tolerance for school’s throughout Northern Virginia. (See the 1960-1979 timeline section for more milestones related to integration and civil rights.)

Students

The 1949 yearbook dedicates a page to the school's international population.
The 1949 yearbook dedicates a page to the school’s international population. The school’s foreign born students quickly adjusted to life at W-L. One student, Avijit Mazumdar, also known as Bobby, was President of the 11-B -12-A Class, President of the International Club, Business Manager of the Penman, and a member of the National Honor Society. (1949 Blue & Gray, November 22, 1950 Crossed Sabres)
At the close of WWII, the student council of '44-'45 presented a plaque to W-L that lists the names of those students who died in the service of their country.
At the close of WWII, the student council of ’44-’45 presented a plaque to W-L that lists the names of those students who died in the service of their country.

The Generals’ Aide handbook was prepared by the Student Council for students annually.


Traditions

  • The Turkey Hop: The evening following the W-L – G.W. game, students went to the Turkey Hop where the Football Queen was crowned. The Football Queen (aka Turkey Queen or Homecoming Queen) tradition began in 1944. In 1968 and 1969 when the game was played before Thanksgiving, a separate homecoming tradition developed.
  • School Dances: “There was a 12- or 14-piece orchestra, and all the ladies wore long evening gowns while the boys wore suits and ties. Everyone was very conscious [sic].” Girard (Norman) Trahan, class of ’43, in an interview with the Northern Virginia Sun (vol. 57, no. 86).
  • Annual Awards Assembly

Class Officers

  • Senior Class Presidents: 1940-Paul Johnson, 1941-Dan Johnson, 1942-Claude Garfield, 1943-Larry Woodward, 1944-Hutchinson Stage, 1945-Bill Lolar, 1946-Walter Vass, 1947-Robert Shirer, 1948-Robert Calvert, 1949-Frank Dill, 1950-Bill Keese, 1951-Fred Mohr, 1952-Charles Montgomery, 1953-Charles Huppuch, 1954-Goodie Taylor, 1955-Warren Beatty, 1956-Pat Murphy, 1957-Al Richmond, 1958-Warren Hottel, 1959-Bob Keyes.
  • SCA Presidents: 1940-Bob Clementson, 1941-Rodney Gaumnitz, 1942-Lee McDonald, 1943 Barnes Lawson, 1944-Billy Earl, 1945-John Loflin, 1946-Oliver Overseth, 1947-Howard Paul, 1948-Edward Holley, 1949-Arthur Wiley, 1950-Pat Funkhouser, 1951-Sam Eberdt, 1952-Jim Pyane, 1953-Tom Thayer, 1954-Ross Fletcher, 1955-Mike Durfee, 1956-George Finley, 1957-Suzie Wilson, 1958-Burt Thurber, 1959-Walt Pilcher

Famous Alumni

Gena Rowlands, class of ’47; John T. “Til” Hazel, class of ’47; Shirley Maclaine, class of ’52; Warren Beatty, class of ’55; Shelley Mann, class of ’55


Faculty

orginial w-l faculty in 1950

The last three original faculty members at W-L were photographed for the 1950 Blue and Gray. They are Misses Loving, Bell, and Greenaway.


Trends

Clarendon Pennys in 1958
The Clarendon Penny’s in 1958 after an expansion. Peoples Drug Store and the Public Shoe Store are in the background. (Public Shoes closed in 2017.)
Boyer's Pharmacy soda fountain in Clarendon
W-L students work and socialize at the Boyer’s Pharmacy soda fountain in Clarendon (’42 Blue and Gray).
  • W-L and Stratford Junior High had a preppy reputation.
  • According to the Generals’ Aide in 1957, Rhythm and Blues, MAD magazines, and “Ivy League” clothes were the keys to fitting in at W-L.
  • According to Stratford Junior High’s Stratford Signpost these were the fashions in ’52: neckties, loafers, and oxfords, and for girls, corduroy weskits and skirts.
  • Students congregated at the Blue and Gray Store on the edge of campus.
  • The “Little Store” which stood outside the school building was another popular gathering place.
  • The Rosslyn and Lyon Village Hot Shoppes were popular with students in the evening hours.
  • “The Rosslyn Hot Shoppes is where you had to go after dances.” Girard (Norman) Trahan, class of ’43, in an interview with the Northern Virginia Sun (vol. 57, no. 86).
  • Gusti’s restaurant in DC.
  • When Marios opened in 1953 it quickly became popular with W-L kids (and it still is as of 2017).
  • Cherry Smash was a popular soda pop and it was bottled in Ballston.
  • Benny Goodman music
  • Riding around on scooters became a trend in 1951.
  • “All kinds of stuff” went on in the darkness of the W-L caves at the Palisades.
  • The Quality Shop in Clarendon and Casual Corner and Hecht’s in Parkington had the latest fashions in the 50s.
  • Young women shopped at Lady Hamilton on Columbia Pike for formal dresses. (It closed in the early 2000s.)
  • Shopping in Clarendon and downtown (F Street).

Sports

Fall 1958 daytime football game
1958 Thanksgiving Day game against G.W. at home. The recently constructed 1952 addition with Campbell Gym is visible to the right of the original building.

The Thanksgiving Day W-L – G.W. Game for the Old Oaken Bucket (1935-1970): This annual football tradition brought Northern Virginia’s toughest rivals onto the gridiron for one final, brutal contest. The winner would claim the Old Oaken Bucket. W-L won the final Old Oaken Bucket game in 1970. That year George Washington High School in Alexandria closed. In the 40s and 50s high school football was a major community event, and the stadium always filled. According to the 1937 yearbook, the ’36 game drew the largest crowd ever to witness a game in Northern Virginia. Before the game students often held a bonfire. The football queen candidates, and class and club floats participated in a parade. For the away games there was a car caravan to GW.

Wayne Ballard’s field goal lifted W-L to a 3-0 win over G.W. to secure the school’s first “undisputed” football state title (Thanksgiving Day 1956).

Arlington War Memorial Stadium. Largely complete by 1957, with the two end zone stands, the permanent concrete visitor seats and the home stands, the stadium held 10,000 spectators. It was the second largest high school stadium in the area; G.W.’s stadium in Alexandria could hold 17,000. The first game held in the new stadium was against Fairfax High School. $27,000 was raised by the Athletic Boosters, a student-led fundraising drive, the War Memorial Committee, and the County and School Boards. (September 17, 1957 Crossed Sabres)

Campbell Gymnasium was built in the 1952 addition and boasted two levels of bleachers. It could seat 2,500 spectators and was the largest high school gym in the region.

A rifle range was built.

Charlie Butt coached W-L crew for over 40 years. A regatta on the Upper Potomac and a special scholarship are named in his honor. W-L has the oldest surviving high school rowing program in the Washington DC area. (TC Williams in Alexandria claims the legacy of G.W.’s rowing program which began a year earlier.) The team has won national and international competitions throughout its 70 year history.

District Titles

  • Football: 1942, 43, 45, 46, 56
  • Cross Country: 1952, 53, 54, 58
  • Outdoor Track: 1953, 54, 55, 56, 58
  • Indoor Track: 1954, 55, 56, 57, 58
  • Basketball: 1941, 42, 56
  • Wrestling: 1958, 59
  • Baseball: 1946, 47, 52, 53, 54, 57
  • Boys Tennis: 1951, 55, 56, 57, 58

State Titles

  • Football: 1956
  • Cross Country: 1952, 53, 54, 58
  • Indoor Track: 1943, 54, 55, 56, 57
  • Baseball: 1949, 50
  • Wrestling: 1959

Crew

  • NOVA: 1949, 50, 51, 57, 58, 59
  • Stotesbury: 1949, 50, 53, 54, 57, 58, 59
  • National Schoolboy: 1949, 50, 53, 57, 58, 59

Activities and Organizations

  • Inter-American Club (aka International Club) founded in 1941
  • Penman literary magazine (1941)
  • The early morning announcers
  • Welcome to W-L Club
  • Chorus
  • Choir
  • Band

The above organizations continue to operate at W-L.