WL歷史和時間表

華盛頓自由,阿靈頓第一所中學

隨著學校在2025年接近百年誕辰,它繼承了 華盛頓李高中,該學校的名字從1925年至2019年。 的 下面的簡要歷史相鄰的歷史時間軸部分 說明最近96年的連續性和變化。


華盛頓自由WL經典徽標藍色和白色
“這所您將接受教育的學校因其學生過去的成就而在全國范圍內享有卓越的聲譽。 您有權為此聲譽感到自豪,但是以此為自豪,我們就有責任衡量高標準的公民身份和獎學金。” – OU Johansen先生,校長(1961-1976)

隨著華盛頓自由大學(Washington-Liberty(WL))的百年紀念,該學校繼續增加了許多歷史性里程碑,這些里程碑創造了最持久的公立高中傳統之一。 建校初期,該校因其歷史悠久的“第一”而聞名,它在開門後不久就歡迎來自全國和世界各地的學生。 在隨後的幾十年中,學校將其遺產作為進步的機構。 當然,如果不承認面臨的挑戰,W-L的歷史將是不完整的。 WL幾十年來的指導原則可以用WL最受歡迎的一位老師的話來概括:  “多樣化” 珍惜差異 — Mabel Allen,WL系1924-1968年的教師

歷史:

在華盛頓李市之前,該地區的高中學生就讀於華盛頓特區附近或現在的亞歷山大市的公立學校。* 1922年,阿靈頓縣公民投票通過了學校擔保,以支付一所位於市中心的新高中的費用。 這是第一次使用債券為弗吉尼亞州的學校建設提供資金。 在1924年成立的第一年,這所尚未命名的學校在Ballston和Cherrydale學校中運營。 華盛頓利高中於6年1925月XNUMX日對學生開放時,這項投資變成了現實。它的名字來自華盛頓和李大學。**最初的三層Beaux Arts風格的教學樓面臨著開放的運動場,即今天的阿靈頓戰爭紀念體育場。

WL的規模與阿靈頓縣一樣,在短短五年內就需要擴展。 這所學校很快以其學術和運動成就而聞名。 WL Cadet Corps是北弗吉尼亞州的第一個JROTC,其中包括大量學生。 W-L的船員團隊成立於1949年,是該地區第二個最古老的學術划船計劃。 與亞歷山大·喬治·華盛頓高中的競爭反映在Old Oaken Bucket的年度足球比賽中,這是感恩節長達三十多年的傳統。 代表著60年代動盪時期學生身體的團結精神,1966年男子高校籃球隊贏得了州冠軍,成為第一支綜合隊。 WL成為整個北弗吉尼亞州和該州其他學校的榜樣。

在學術上,WL 是最早提供高級大學水平課程的地區高中之一。 當全國高中排名越來越受歡迎時,WL被評為“No. 2 年代全國排名第 1960 的高中,並被評為該州“最優秀的高中”。 隨著該地區外國移民的增加,WL 和附近的 Stratford 初中*** 於 1966 年為英語學習者提供了第一堂課; 超過 10% 的學生人口是外國出生的。 1985年,WL因其學術成就被美國教育部授予榮譽稱號。 2012 年,美國總統巴拉克·奧巴馬 (Barack Obama) 向學生群體發表講話,以表彰學校多元化、成績優異的學生群體。

許多畢業生在藝術,科學,商業,軍事,政府,體育等領域取得了成功。 僅在娛樂方面,WL就擁有奧斯卡獎,艾美獎和托尼獎。 其他校友曾獲得諾貝爾獎,普利策獎,奧林匹克獎,世界大賽和超級碗獎。

關於學校名稱的說明:

“中央高中”和“鮑爾斯頓高中”(1924-1925):

  • 根據Sally Loving的WL歷史,學校董事會會議記錄和其他記錄,這所尚未命名的學校在其運營的第一年(1924-25學年)被非正式地稱為“中央高中”。
  • 德爾雷(Del Ray)的競爭對手喬治·梅森(George Mason)高中非官方地使用“鮑爾斯頓高中”(Ballston High School)在其年鑑中對其進行了描述。

華盛頓李高中(1925-2019):

  • 華盛頓李高中(Washington-Lee High School)這個名字於31年1925月XNUMX日由阿靈頓學校董事會正式採用。
  • 根據“華盛頓李的歷史” 將軍助手學生手冊,於40年代至70年代發表:“這個名字取自華盛頓大學和李大學; 但是,省略了和,並使用了連字符來區分彼此。”
  • 學校的暱稱是WL,發音為“ WnL”。

華盛頓自由中學(2019年至今):

  • 隨著全國各地機構對名稱和符號的重新評估,2018年的公開程序幫助制定了一個新的學校名稱,該名稱將尊重學校的悠久歷史並啟發後代的學生。
  • 自1年2019月XNUMX日起,阿靈頓校務委員會投票決定將學校的名稱更改為“華盛頓自由中學”。學生和老師參加了採用更新的學校顏色和徽標的活動。
  • 學校的暱稱是WL,發音為“ WnL”。

 


筆記:

  1. 喬治·梅森高中(George Mason High School)於1919年在Del Ray社區成立。 它是亞歷山大縣的第一所也是唯一的一所中學。 以前,一些縣居民為亞歷山大市的中學支付學費。 第二年,該縣更名為阿靈頓。 1925年,喬治·梅森(George Mason)搬進了一座新建築。 隨著WL的開放,縣際競爭開始發展。 1930年,亞歷山大市吞併了波托馬克鎮,該鎮包含了阿靈頓縣的德爾雷社區。 現在位於亞歷山大市的喬治·梅森高中不久就關閉了。 喬治·梅森(George Mason)舊中學大樓目前是由亞歷山大市公立學校(Alexandria City Public Sc​​hools)運營的芒特弗農社區學校(Mount Vernon Community School)。
  2. WL採用了許多W&L大學的傳統,例如榮譽代碼,將軍吉祥物,暱稱(發音為“ WnL”)和學校印章。 最初的學校印章是由弗朗西斯·戴維·米勒(Francis David Millet)設計的,他是一名聯盟退伍軍人和藝術家的幫助,最後一次在泰坦尼克號沉沒期間解救了婦女和兒童。 (有關學校早期的更多信息,請參見 WL的歷史,1924-1939年 以及其他學校出版物。)
  3. 斯特拉特福德初中於3年2019月XNUMX日重新開放,名為多蘿西·哈姆中學。

W-L History and Timeline

Washington-Liberty, Arlington’s First High School

As the school nears its centenary in 2025, it carries on the legacy of Washington-Lee High School, the school’s name from 1925-2019. The brief history below and the adjacent historical timeline sections illustrate the last 96 years of continuity and change.


Washington-Liberty W-L Classic Logo Blue and White Colors
“This school in which you will receive your education has a nationwide reputation for excellence resulting from the past achievements of its students. You have a right to be proud of this reputation, but with this pride goes a responsibility for measuring up to the high standards of citizenship and scholarship.” – Mr. O. U. Johansen, principal (1961-1976)

As Washington-Liberty (W-L) approaches its centenary, the school continues to add to the many historical milestones that have created one of the most enduring public high school legacies. The school was noted for many historical “firsts” in its early years, and it welcomed students from around the country and the world shortly after opening its doors. In the subsequent decades, the school embraced its legacy as a progressive institution. Of course, W-L’s history would not be complete without acknowledging the challenges it faced. W-L’s guiding principles through the decades can be summed up by this phrase from one of W-L’s most beloved teachers:  “FOVEAT DIVERSITATES” Cherish the differences — Mabel Allen, W-L faculty from 1924-1968

History:

Before Washington-Lee, area high school students attended public schools in nearby Washington, DC or in what is now the City of Alexandria.* In 1922, Arlington County citizens voted for school bonds to cover the cost of a new centrally located high school; it was the first time bonds were used to finance school construction in Virginia. For its first year in 1924 the yet-to-be-named school operated out of the Ballston and Cherrydale Schools. The investment became a reality when Washington-Lee High School opened for students on 6 October 1925. It took its name from Washington & Lee University.** The original three-story Beaux Arts style school building faced an open athletic field, today’s Arlington War Memorial Stadium.

W-L grew in size as did Arlington County, requiring an expansion in just five years. The school soon became known for its academic and athletic accomplishments. The W-L Cadet Corps, the first JROTC in Northern Virginia, included a significant number of students. W-L’s crew team was formed in 1949 as the region’s second oldest scholastic rowing program. A rivalry with Alexandria’s George Washington High School was reflected in the annual football game for the Old Oaken Bucket, a Thanksgiving Day tradition for over three decades. Symbolizing the student body’s spirit of unity during the turbulent 60s, the 1966 boys varsity basketball team won the state championship as the first integrated team. W-L became a model for other schools throughout Northern Virginia and the state.

Academically, W-L was one of the first area high schools to offer advanced, college-level classes. When national high school rankings grew in popularity, W-L was rated as the “No. 2” high school in the country in the 1960s and also was named the state’s “grooviest high school.” As foreign immigration to the region increased, W-L and nearby Stratford Junior High School*** offered the first classes for English Learners in 1966; over 10% of the student population was foreign born. In 1985, W-L was honored for its academic achievements by the U.S. Department of Education. In recognition of the school’s diverse, high-achieving student population, President Barack Obama addressed the student body in 2012.

Many graduates have achieved success in the arts, science, business, the military, government, athletics, and more. In entertainment alone W-L boasts Oscar, Emmy, and Tony winners; other alumni have won Nobel, Pulitzer, Olympic, World Series, and Super Bowl awards.

Notes on the School’s Names:

“the central high school” and “Ballston High School” (1924-1925):

  • According to Sally Loving’s history of W-L, school board minutes, and other accounts, the yet-to-be-named school was unofficially called “the central high school” in its first year of operation, the 1924-25 school year.
  • Rival George Mason High School in Del Ray used “Ballston High School” unofficially to describe the school in its yearbook.

Washington-Lee High School (1925-2019):

  • The name Washington-Lee High School was formally adopted by the Arlington School Board on 31 July 1925.
  • According to the “History of Washington-Lee” in the Generals’ Aide Student Handbook, published in the 40s-70s: “The name was taken from Washington and Lee University; however, the and was omitted and a hyphen substituted to distinguish one from the other.”
  • School nickname is W-L, pronounced “WnL.”

Washington-Liberty High School (2019-Present Day):

  • As institutions around the country reevaluated names and symbols, a public process in 2018 helped to craft a new school name that would respect the school’s rich history and inspire future generations of students.
  • The Arlington School Board voted to change the school’s name to “Washington-Liberty High School” effective 1 July 2019. Students and teachers participated in the adoption of updated school colors and logos.
  • School nickname is W-L, pronounced “WnL.”

 


Notes:

  1. George Mason High School opened in 1919 in the Del Ray community. It was the first and only high school in Alexandria County; previously, some county residents paid tuition to City of Alexandria high schools. The county was renamed Arlington the following year. In 1925 George Mason moved into a new building; and with W-L now open, an inter-county rivalry developed. In 1930 the City of Alexandria annexed the Town of Potomac, which contained the community of Del Ray, from Arlington County. George Mason High School, now in the City of Alexandria, closed soon afterwards. The old George Mason High School building is currently the Mount Vernon Community School, operated by Alexandria City Public Schools.
  2. A number of W&L University traditions were adopted by W-L, such as the honor code, the generals mascot, the nickname (pronounced “WnL”), and the school seal. The original school seal was designed by Francis David Millet, a Union veteran and artist helped who was last seen rescuing women and children during the sinking of the RMS Titanic. (More information about the school’s early years can be found in History of W-L, 1924-1939 and in other school publications.)
  3. Stratford Junior High School reopened on 3 September 2019 as Dorothy Hamm Middle School.